Water Brush or traditional brushes?

Sketchbooks, pencils, pens, slabs of rock ... what's your latest discovery?

Moderator: Gerald

ingbranch
Newbie Crawler
Newbie Crawler

Water Brush or traditional brushes?

Post by ingbranch »

I've been reading a lot about water brushes for watercolor painting. I myself have been using one but have neglected to use the traditional brushes. I'm a novice to watercolors and I'l like to know how other people feel about their water brushes. Do you like the way they feel compared to traditional? Do they make the same lines, effect? Which ones are the best fitting? And anything else you might have to add. Thank you.
ethangeorgi
Newbie Crawler
Newbie Crawler

Post by ethangeorgi »

I use a water brush when I'm on the move. I like that it consolidates everything and there are no spills. I use a real brush, with a container of water, and a paper towel, when I'm at home. The major difference between the two, in my opinion, is water control.

With a real brush you can be more precise about your pigment/water ratio. You have more control over how much paint is on your brush. With the water brushes, I find I either have too much water on the brush or not enough. It's hard to control the flow. (Which is "deep", if you know what I mean.) The inability to be very precise with the amount of water on the brush means you don't have as much control over the paint mixing on the paper.

Like I said, I use the water brushes when I'm on the move. I sacrifice accuracy for speed and convenience.

There may also be some issues with the material the brushes are made out of, but I'm not professional enough to know.
gustavo
Site Admin
Site Admin
United States of America

Post by gustavo »

Hi ingbranch,

I am in the same situation as yourself. I am a beginner with watercolor and so far I have only used the water brush (Niji) as my brush both in sketchcrawls / on the move and at home and have done small watercolors (3.5 x 5.5in Moleskin).